01/13 On the Bookshelf . . .

Received an interesting collections of books for review over the last couple of days:

Carrion Comfort
I’ve been wanting to read Carrion Comfort by Dan Simmons for some time, almost saving it as a weighty book that I much look forward to.  And now with this impressive new paperback edition, I guess it’s finally time I read it.

Secret Circles

While I don’t remember specifically at the time why I wanted to review Jack: Secret Circles by F. Paul Wilson, as it is the second in a trilogy, it still sounds an interesting story.

Lost City of Z

I was interested in this book when it came out in hardcover, but wasn’t able to get a copy at the time, but now I’ve managed to snag the paperback which is due out in a couple of weeks; should be  a fascinating read.

Alcestis

I was recommended this book by my wife who knows the author, and have now received a copy of review.  Sounds interest and may turn into an interview for BookBanter.

Unwritten

After hearing Mike Carey talk so much about his love for The Unwritten, I’m very happy to get a copy of the first collected volume.