BookBanter Boon #1: “Blockade Billy” by Stephen King

BookBanter Boon

And here it is.  The first BookBanter giveaway; the first BookBanter Boon.  And the giveaway is none other than an advance reader copy of Stephen King’s latest book, Blockade Billy.  The BookBanter Facebook Group has leaped past the 500-member mark and is currently at 532.

Blockade Billy

So, to be entered into the random drawing for the ARC of Blockade Billy, here are the two simple rules:

  1. You need to be a member of the BookBanter Facebook Group.
  2. You need to leave a comment on this post.  It can be about BookBanter, about what you’re having for dinner, what you’re favorite book is, or perhaps what you think is the story behind William “Blockade Billy” Blakely.

Entries will be accepted through this weekend, and then on Monday evening I will make a random drawing and contact the lucky winner.

If you have any questions, shoot me an email at alex@bookbanter.net.

39 thoughts on “BookBanter Boon #1: “Blockade Billy” by Stephen King

  1. Looking forward to reading this Stephen King book as Ive read his other books. Have found them odd but always intriguing and its quite funny I did this quiz on what Crazy Writer you were and I got Stephen King

  2. Do you think the success of this one may be more local US rather than the rest of the world, where baseball doesn’t hold the same gravitas for the reader?

    • It’s still a fun story with a good mystery. But if you know nothing about baseball, you’ll miss a lot of the details. Definitely think an American audience will understand it better.

  3. Hi there,

    Tonight was pizza followed by a “Case Closed” mini-marathon. My favorite Stephen King novel is “The Stand” (impossible to pick an all-time favorite book period at this time in my life). The story behind William “Blockade Billy” Blakely is that he never learned how to make waffles…

    Thank you & goodnight,

    Blake C.

  4. I stopped reading King because he was so darn believable and could scare you spitless! But, I’ve watched some of his later works in film and am presently reading his son’s newest book, Horns {and let me say the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree with this son’s writing} so it’s time for me to get back to reading King’s books. Paula Shene, author Mandy The Alpha Dog from the series The Chronicles of The K-9 Boys and Girls on Locus Street

    • “Horns” was a lot of fun. I reviewed it here on BookBanter, just do a search for “Horns.” Though I believe his characters are a lot more complex and deeper than King’s. With King it’s a lot about the story, while with Hill it’s a lot about the characters. “Under the Dome” is amazing. Again, it’s reviewed on BookBanter, just do a search for it.

  5. i am excited to read this book by stephen king! i’m not sure what to post here, but i do know this book is sold out in a lot of places! i hope i win this contest! i am currently reading a few horror books by different authors that i met at horror realm in pittsurgh which r really cool thus far!

  6. At this moment I am reading Relentless by Dean Koontz, and I figure who better to follow a Koontz novel then Stephan King. King is also my sister’s fave author so I know she would love to have a read once I am finished.
    And we had Pizza for dinner as well!

    • Somewhat. Though it’s about baseball, which he loves. Such as the book he co-wrote, “Faithful,” on the Red Sox who broke the curse that year and one the World Series. You can also catch him often at Fenway sitting in the crowd.

  7. I have been a fan of King for many years. It’s his insight,(I believe he’s an intuitive)
    that is so facsinating. His style makes it something to read again and again so you can catch every detail. would love to read this advanced copy
    FYI, I had a tramatic brain injury and it was thought that I would never be able to read again.It took years and commitment, but it is possible,slow but possible. Thanks to
    my angels

  8. Does the novel take place in war time? It sounds like a Civil War or Revolutionary War novel with King’s psychological horror added in.

  9. Stephen King was my inspiration. Hands down, my favorite is The Stand, but some of the others I found intriguing were Fire Starter and Dead Zone. Another one that has stuck with me over the year is his short story Survival Type. That one still creeps me out. 🙂

    As far as baseball – Mr. King and I share the same favorite team – the Red Sox! And while I’m not a huge baseball fan, if the Red Sox are playing – especially if it’s against the Yankees – that’s what’ on the television in my house.

    I’m game to read any King story even one with a baseball thread intertwined.

  10. I have enjoyed nearly every SK book I have ever read! He’s been my favorite since I was a child, ( I know I know don’t judge my mother :)) Actually I think that’s how Alex and I connected, he gave a copy of a Bachman book in college!! I wanna win!!

  11. I love Stephen King’s writing, but his books are not on my night table. They are strictly morning and afternoon reads – no nightmares for me!

  12. I love Stephen King! I have been reading his books for over 20 years and I agree with Betsy…only read his books in the afternoon and where there are lots of people around…he’s a great writer!

  13. Currently reading “Tattoos of the Heart: The Power of Boundless Compassion” by Fr. Greg Boyle, SJ, of Homeboy Industries in LA.

  14. He’s coming out with another already?? Not that I’m complaining. Under The Dome was great!

    And–his son is writing?? Must go investigate…

  15. That was AMAZINGLY quick – a HUGE following in such a short space of time.

    CONGRATULATIONS!

    Until a few years ago I was an avid King reader but nowadays most of the books I go for are Young Adult – it’s the genre I write in. My husband is a great fan and has at least 5 books translated into Greek….no – he’s NOT super-brainy but Greek is his native language!

    Thanks for including us in such a creative idea!

  16. I think in Kings new novel, “Blockade Billy,” the protagonist appears as such of a normal baseball player to the human eye. However deep inside, Billy is just as relentlessly scathing and seeks revenge with his baseball comrades. Perhaps Billy is just another ordinary character to one person. But to another, he could be at his most intuitive and telepathically inclined as his predecessor, Carrie White. Will this be the next big thriller this year? Indeed, I’m dying to find out. 🙂

  17. I am returning from a week spent with grand babies. Great fun. Ready to be home to get back to ReADING.

  18. I totally pre-ordered this from Cemetery Dance (complete with baseball card) but you know I lurve advances!!!

  19. And the winner of the ARC of “Blockade Billy” is Molly Sharper! Congratulations to Molly. Glad to see this first BookBanter Boon was a success and will certainly be doing more of these!

  20. Congrats to the winner!!
    As usual I got here too late.
    Still want to put in my two cents…

    I’m pretty sure it was you who got me hooked on Stephen King. You literary pusher you!! XDDD

    I remember the carpool to school, you were reading Green Mile in its original serial format and your shear enthusiasm each time a new chapter came out made me curious to check out a couple of novels we had at home.
    Then I read The Gunslinger and that was it, I’m a total King Junkie!
    I even try to pick up 1st edition hardbacks though I only read the paperbacks so as not to de-value the hardbacks, and at some point when I have some throwaway money I will buy one of those illustrated super limited editions that cost about $300)

Leave a Reply

