“The Bloody Ground, Book Four: Battle of Antietam, 1862” by Bernard Cornwell (Harper Perennial, 2002)

The Nathaniel Starbuck Chronicles:
Part Four of Four

The Bloody Groundstarstarstar

In the final book of Nathaniel Starbuck’s Civil War adventures, he is given command of a collection of cowards, thieves, deserters and murderers, known as a punishment battalion.  Starbuck and his men team up with General Robert E. Lee’s army and join Stonewall Jackson at Harper’s Ferry, where the Union garrison is defeated.  Then they move onto Sharpsburg, beside Antietam Creek, infamously remembered as the bloodiest single day of the war.

The Battle of Antietam will be the final showdown for this conclusive novel of the renowned Nathaniel Starbuck series.  As to whether Starbuck triumphs or dies, you’ll just have to read the book and find out.

If you liked this review and are interested in purchasing this book, click here.

Originally published on November 4th, 2002.

Originally published in the Long Beach Union.