“White Horse” Progress Report 22

WORDS WRITTEN:4,485

TOTAL WORDS: 50,398

REASON FOR STOPPING: Hit word goal for the week; finished chapter thirteen and fourteen; hit 50,000 words

WORDS FOR THE WEEK: 5,083 words

This week has been a good and productive one for the writing of White Horse, as I’ve been sticking with my 500 words or so a day, or making up for it when I didn’t quite hit it, and today after a long session with The Unwritten writing group, I got a lot of words down on the page, finished the long chapter I’d been working on, and managed to start and finish another one.  Ended up writing almost four and half thousand words today at 4,4,85, but I kept pushing myself with three different writing sessions during the day, with the goal of hitting the 50,000 word mark, which I did reach and then passed, ending the day and word count for the week at 50,398.  Which is good, because tomorrow I’ll be able to work on other projects after getting so much done with White Horse today.

Now, technically here’s what the word counter meter currently reads with today’s writing:
wordage

Yay, I reached that 50k mark, but alas, it is not the end of the book; but I knew a while ago that I would likely be surpassing the 50k mark when this story, which was originally conceived as a novella, continued to grow and grow and become a full-length novel.  I’m now adjusting the word count goal to 75k and I believe this to be a good estimate for how much more I need to finish the book.  Of course, that’s not set in stone, and who knows how much longer the characters may want to hang around, telling their stories.  Anyway, here’s the current word count meter:

wordage

And now for some work in progress:

I gingerly got to my feet, almost losing my balance for a moment, and took a few steps away from the dog I obliterated.  For the first time, I saw the torn flesh and fur of the animal, matted with an immense amount of blood.  There were puddles of red growing on the ground.  Then I looked down at myself and saw I was completely soaked with the animal’s blood.  I then felt the cold wetness of it, touching my bare flesh, the weight of it pulling my clothes down.  I gagged, but swallowed, forcing myself not to vomit.

Leave a Reply

