BookBanter Column #4: Thank You Borders

BookBanter Column

With the Sacramento Book Review site still down at the moment, I’ve decided to just put up my next BookBanter column on my site, since we are near the end of Borders, and my store will officially be having its last day next Monday.  So here’s the column . . .

I started working for Borders in October of 2005; last October I had my fifth-year anniversary working for the company; by the beginning of October this year Borders Books, Music and More will no longer exist.  It is estimated that around 10,700 people will lose their jobs when Borders closes its doors for good.  The original Borders bookstore opened in 1971 in Ann Arbor, Michigan.  At its height in 2003, Borders had 1,249 stores; five years later it announced its intention to sell.  Two years of doubt and uncertainty followed, mainly for the Borders employees, knowing that the end would come and it was merely a case of when.  A revolving door of CEOs and constant changes to upper management couldn’t stem or slow the tide of inevitability. Continue reading . . .