The Future of BookBanter

It is a weighty headline for a weighty subject.  After much thinking and contemplation, I have come to the decision that 2012 will be the last year I do interviews on BookBanter.  December 2012 will be the last month I put up interviews on the BookBanter site, as I have decided to focus my work and career and the BookBanter site more towards my writing.

I did not come to this decision lightly, and it is certainly one I have thought about seriously.  But I feel it is the right one.  Having published my first ebook, Unquiet Slumbers for the Sleepers, I have really enjoyed all the work that has been involved in this, as well as all the work I continue to do (I’m not done yet!).  I also plan to publish three more ebooks this year, ideally in April (a second short story collection), July (a young adult fantasy novel), and some time in Fall (a thriller novel).

Throughout the year, I will also be making small and subtle changes to the BookBanter site so it is more geared towards my writing.  I will still continue to review books, as I consider that very much a part of my writing, as well as continue writing the BookBanter Column, which will primarily be published on Forces of Geek.

Come January, 2013, there will be no more new interviews uploaded to BookBanter, but the interviews already on the site will continue to be available to readers indefinitely.  I will also do a site redesign that January.

As for the rest of 2012, I will continue to put up new interviews on the first of each month as part of my “Faces of Publishing” series, a listing of which you can see on the main page of BookBanter in the right-hand column.  You can also subscribe to the BookBanter Blog at the top right of the blog to get all the posts and updates about BookBanter.  I also plan on doing a few more author interviews throughout this year, and two that I have already confirmed are with Saladin Ahmed, author of Throne of the Crescent Moon, and Jack Whyte, author of the Camulod Chronicles and most recently The Forest Laird.

While I’m not done interviewing yet, by any means, I would just like to thank all the publicists and authors over the last three years who have been so helpful and courteous in organizing and doing these interviews, and I have made a number of good friends and acquaintances along the way.  It was a dream that I worked at and it came true, but it never would’ve happened without the help of all these people along the way.

To end this then, I thank you for reading, and be sure to keep checking back on BookBanter for new interviews, reviews, BookBanter columns, and plenty of writing.

Thank you,

Alex C. Telander.

Leave a Reply

