Writing Goals Achieved in 2012

As we now slough through the cold January of 2013, it’s time to look at how I did with my writings goals I set for myself around this time last year.  The original post can be found here.

GOAL #1: Hit Page 500 of Wyrd.  The goal for the manuscript I’m working on, Wyrd, this year is to hit page 500.  One might say this should be the end of the book with how it’s going, but I have a feeling I’m going to hear page 500 and have more story to tell, so we’ll just have to see.

Okay, while I didn’t hit page 500 of the Wyrd manuscript as I’d hoped, I did essentially achieve my writing goal of finishing Part Three of the book, which was a huge long chunk.  I’m now at on page 455 and am pretty confident I’ll be hitting and passing page 500 at some point in 2013.  You can find the Wyrd progress report post here.  Also as predicted, the manuscript is nowhere near complete, and probably isn’t even at half way.

GOAL #2: To be half ready with White HorseBy this I mean to have the manuscript half-edited, or either in a second or third draft, but at the halfway point of being completely edited.  I have a feeling I might get more done than this, but want to hedge my bets with the other projects I’m working on.  One thing I do know about this manuscript is that I’m going to change the name.

This did not happen.  I did get part way through a re-read, which I will continue with in 2013 and working through an edit, but with the number of goals I set up for myself for 2012, I feel I once again stretched myself too thin.  I also had some big changes in my life in 2012, including getting a new job and moving, which totally changes my planned writing schedule and makes it hard to create a new one.  But work will continue with White Horse in 2013.

GOAL #3: Begin work on second Four Horsemen book.  White Horse is the first book in a four-book series involving four separate and distinct post-apocalyptic worlds.  This goal is to get started on the second book, whether it’s with research, outlining, or writing out the first couple of pages, but to get it started in some way.

Er . . . yeah, see above for this.  I could say I started a very little bit on this with thinking about it in my mind, and a few things have started to take shape, but nothing really concrete yet.  It’s possible towards the end of 2013 I may start working on this in some capacity, but we will just have to wait and see.  I once again know a big life change coming in 2013, so I’m going to be a lot more lenient with my 2013 writing goals.

GOAL #4: Write 2-4 short stories. Since this worked well for last year’s goal, I’m setting it again for this year.

I got one full short story written this year, and it ended up being a pretty long one – was over the length of two regular short stories, so that should count!  I also have a couple of ideas in my head still wanting to get on the screen, so maybe in 2013.

GOAL #5: Self-publish two short story collections.  This is already in process, I have the cover and layout set for the first collection, called Unquiet Slumbers for the Sleepers, and hope to self-publish it on Smashwords later this month.  The second collection, In That Quiet Earth, I plan to self-publish  in March or April.

This got done and both short story collections were self-published over the course of the year and widely read.  They can be downloaded for free through Smashwords: Unquiet Slumbers for the Sleepers and In That Quiet Earth.

GOAL #6: Self-Publish Kyra: The First Book of EnchantusMy young adult fantasy book that I’m currently in the process of getting ready for self-publishing.  I don’t plan to get this self-published until the summer, say June or July.

This also happened, and was very happy with how the process went, and it was a very educational one.  Kyra: The First Book of Enchantus can be purchased in both ebook and print edition.

GOAL #7: Start work on the the second book of Enchantus.  Depending on how things go with self-publishing Kyra, but if things take off and it sells well and there is demand for the sequel, then I plan to start work on it in some way, whether it’s outlining and/or writing.  I would really like to do this and am excited to see what story would come out of it.

With the slow moving process of self-publishing Kyra and it’s not hitting any real sort of goal in sales, yet!, this is on indefinite hiatus until that changes.  But I will continue to promote and push Kyra through 2013.

GOAL #8: Give Nothing is an Accident a home. By this I mean, by the end of the year, Nothing is an Accident will need to be either available to readers in some way, or in the process of reaching that goal.  I’m still querying it to agents, and the next step will be looking into small presses, and the final step would be to self-publish which, if it becomes necessary, would probably be happening in fall, like September or October.

I had some great responses from agents through the year for this manuscript, and one very close acceptance.  I had planned to self-publish Nothing is an Accident in the fall, then in the summer of 2013, but now it is in a “to be determined” state as I think about and figure what I want to do with it.

And there you have it.  Not a bad year looking back in what I wanted to achieve, what I actually got done vs. what I didn’t, but then if there’s one thing I’ve learned with setting myself these writing goals at the beginning of each year it’s that I pretty much don’t complete them all by the end of December, but I do achieve the ones I really wanted to and cared about.

Next week we will have my writing goals for 2013.

Leave a Reply

