Bookbanter Column: Diary of an Ereader, Part One: An Introduction

In the latter months of 2012 I joined a quickly growing population that just five years ago barely existed: I got myself an ereader.

I like the feel of a real book, be it a brand new hardcover that cracks open as you open it for the first time with that fresh smell.

Really?

  1. Printed books sales, both hardcover and paperback, had one of their best selling seasons in years.
  2. Nook ereader sales were terrible and way down.

A lot of people still like printed books.  A lot of people are still going to keep buying printed books.

And if they did stop making printed books tomorrow, the industry of used books would still continue to live on alive and well for a long time until every used book was but a shattered binding of crumbling pages.

And, as I began this column, admit that I now own an ereader, a Kobo Glo in fact, and have a number of books I am reviewing on there (which I will discuss in Part Two of this series).

I enjoy ereading very much, I like the portability, ease of use, being able to do things like eat at the same time and just use a finger swipe to turn the page instead of having to jam a book open with one hand and fumble with a sandwich in the other.

There is the additional advantage of being able to download books and start reading right away, instead of having to wait for a delivery.  And with the Kobo Glo, the added ease of being able to read in the dark with the ereader light turned on.

And yet, for all the advantages that ereaders present to readers in making reading easier, more efficient, more optimal, more simplified; giving you the most out of your reading with the littlest effort on the part of the reader, it hasn’t replaced my print book reading by any means.

After enjoying the frivolities of ereading for over four months, I still read at least two to three print books to every ebook I read.  I generally use my ereader on my lunches at work, or when I have a short period of time to do some quick reading, but it in no way replaces sitting down in a comfortable chair with a real book in my hands to read.

I can tell this specific dueling between print books and ebooks will be something I will continue to discuss in this “Diary of an Ereader” series, and one could make the claim that perhaps in some years time I may switch over to reading ebooks more.  I cannot predict the future, but at the moment I’m perfectly satisfied with my ereader, and enjoy ereading on it, but it still doesn’t beat the glossy texture of a dust-jacket, the rough shushing of the pages, and the unique smell of the printed word on the paper page.

Originally published on Forces of Geek.

Leave a Reply

