A Man of Science: An Interview with Robert J. Sawyer

An Interview with Robert J. Sawyer

Robert J. Sawyer

Robert J. Sawyer has won just about every award there is in the genre of science fiction. He is the author of the novel Flashforward, which the TV series was based on, and has just completed his WWW trilogy with Wonder .Robert was first interviewed on BookBanter on July 11, 2009 shortly after the release of Wake. You can listen to that interview here.

In this recent interview, he talks about how he has changed as a writer in writing the trilogy, what he hopes readers get from the WWW books, what he thinks about screenwriting, what his next book will be about, where he thinks technology is headed, and what his favorite food is!

To read the interview, click here. To read reviews, click on the covers below:

Wake Watch Wonder

“WWW: Wonder” by Robert J. Sawyer (Ace, 2011)


In Wonder, award winner Robert J. Sawyer’s thrilling conclusion to his WWW trilogy, after Wake and Watch, he takes the evolved consciousness of the Internet, known as Webmind, to a whole new level.  After almost being destroyed by the US agency WATCH, Webmind is now released to the world by its discoverer, Caitlin Dector, a teenager, who goes on TV to broadcast the existence of this animate consciousness.  Word spreads lightning fast on the Internet, and Webmind is soon communicating with millions of people around the world, simultaneously, learning much and helping those it can.  In a short while it has discovered a possible cure for cancer, but Webmind’s goal is some form of world peace and to bring joy to humanity.  Meanwhile Colonel Peyton Hume, the Pentagon’s top expert on artificial intelligence, thinks Webmind isn’t what it says it is; that its intentions aren’t for the improvement of human kind, but for personal gain; with the power it has it could take over the world, or worse.

In Wonder, Sawyer brings his separate storylines – Caitlin the blind girl, Hobo the ape, and Communist China – all together in a page-turning finish, going beyond the basic story and questioning philosophical ideas and scientific theories and what they mean for humanity and the future.  While Sawyer may be letting his own ideology show itself here, it is no doubt one that is subscribed to by many readers, who will enjoy seeing some of these ideas come to fruition in this possible world.  And isn’t that one of the reasons for the existence of science fiction?

CLICK HERE to purchase your copy from Bookshop Santa Cruz and help support BookBanter.

Originally written on March 6, 2011 ©Alex C. Telander.

You might also like . . .

Wake Watch

02/15 On the Bookshelf . . . “Serpent’s Storm” & “WWW: Wonder”

Serpent's Storm Wonder

Ahh, the next two sagas in two series.  We have the next installment of the entertaining Calliope Reaper-Jones series, after Death’s Daughter and Cat’s Claw by Amber Benson.  And the conclusion of the fantastic WWW trilogy from Robert J. Sawyer, after Wake and Watch.

“WWW: Watch” by Robert J. Sawyer (Ace, 2010)


After the success of Wake, Hugo Award-winning author Robert J. Sawyer returns with the second in the WWW trilogy, Watch.  Caitlin Decter is still trying to wrap her mind around her new power; having spent the first sixteen years of her life blind, she is now able to see in one eye.  The world is a beautiful place, with incredible looking things to see, as well as fascinating people, not to mention her interesting friends and family who she can now see, as well as learning how to do so many ordinary things with sight for the first time.

Then there is Webmind, the sentient being that has arisen from the depths of the Internet and is becoming more conscious, aware and brilliant by the second.  Caitlin does everything she can to keep Webmind entertained and fulfilled, employing the help of her parents, as well as the doctor who gave her her sight.  But the secret military group known as WATCH has discovered the existence of Webmind and after conferring with the highest levels of the government, they’ve deemed this presence a threat to national and international security and are going to try to kill it.  Caitlin is left with just one choice: announce the existence of Webmind to the people of the world.

Sawyer continues the great storytelling from Wake, discussing the concepts of game theory, and what a sentient presence on the Internet could really mean for the world in his comfortable, conversational way.  The only failing of this book is that it leaves the reader immediately wanting the conclusion to the trilogy, Wonder.  Fans will have to wait one more year for the thrilling end to this great trilogy.

CLICK HERE to purchase your copy from Bookshop Santa Cruz and help support BookBanter.

Originally written on May 3 2010 ©Alex C. Telander