Top Eleven Books of the Last Decade

And here’s my roundup of the top ten eleven books that I liked most over the last ten years.  (Since I did a “top eleven” reads for 2009, I figured I’d stick with the same format for this list, plus again I was able to boil it down to eleven really good books.)  Now, I know I didn’t keep track of every book I read over the last ten years, but I did review a number of them, 275 of them to be exact — at least according to the reviews I still have.  I’m sure there were plenty that I read and didn’t review or perhaps even forgot that I read.

But enough blathering, here’s the Top Ten Books of the Last Decade (2000-2009) IMHO [reviews are linked]:

  1. The Terror by Dan Simmons (2007)
  2. World Without End by Ken Follett (2007)
  3. The Little Book of Atheist Spirituality by Andre Compte-Sponville (2008)
  4. The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins (2006)
  5. The History of the Ancient World by Susan Wise Bauer (2007)
  6. The Invisible Sex: Uncovering the True Roles of Women in Prehistory by J. M. Adovasio, Olga Soffer, and Jake Page (2007)
  7. Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (2008)
  8. The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick (2007)
  9. The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon (2000)
  10. Bonk by Mary Roach (2008)
  11. Under the Banner of Heaven:A Story of Violent Faith by Jon Krakauer (2003)

Honorable Mention: Hyperion by Dan Simmons (1989), Guns, Germs and Steel by Jared Diamond (1997)

And there you have it.  Comments, opinions, and disagreements are always welcome!